a journal of the arts...

The 2017 Joy Harjo Poetry Award, Barry Lopez Nonfiction Award & Rick DeMarinis Short Story Award:
For more information call 1-970-903-7914or email us @ cutthroatmag@gmail.com
    Mail manuscripts to:  CUTTHROAT Literary Award(specify genre)
P.O. Box 2414
   Durango, CO 81302
             **First Prize in each genre: $1300 and publication.** 
             **Second Prize in each genre: $250 and publication. **
                          **Honorable Mention:  Publication.**          
                                                   2017 JUDGES 
                                            Poetry:  Patricia Spears Jones
                                       Short Story:  Mona Susan Power
                                             Nonfiction:  David Quammen
Submit up to three unpublished poems (100 line limit each), one unpublished short story or creative nonfiction piece (5000 word limit), any subject, any style, postmarked between July 30, 2018 and midnight Pacific Daylight Time OCTOBER 31, 2018.  

MAIL ENTRIES:  Make checks payable to Raven's Word  for all entries. There is an $20 reading fee.   Simultaneous submissions ok if writer informs us if a submission is taken by another magazine.  Submit as often as  you wish.  If you mail in your entry,   DO NOT STAPLE STORIES, ESSAYS OR POEMS!  All paper is recycled. All manuscripts must be in 12 point font. MUST include SASE for announcement of winners.  Author name must not appear on MS.  Include cover sheet with name, address, phone, email, genre and title(s). 
ONLINE ENTRIES:  Do not include a cover sheet. AUTHOR NAME MUST NOT APPEAR ON MS!  $20 entry fee. You will be instructed how to pay this by our submission service. Fiction must be double-spaced. 12 point font. 

No relatives of or employees of CUTTHROAT,  no friends or students of judges are eligible     for these prizes.  No stories or poems that have been published or have won contests are eligible.  

                            Winners will be notified by December 31, 2017.

                         WE PREFER ONLINE SUBMISSIONS!!!                        
                 Thank you to all the writers who submitted last year!
Worlds into words into WORLDS