a journal of the arts...
Worlds into words into WORLDS

Profits from sales of Truth To Power are donated to the ACLU, Southern Poverty Law Center, Friends Of The Earth and the Standing Rock Sioux Water Protectors.  Please click on the link to view the documentary, "Awake," filmed during the peaceful  protests against NDPL (North Dakota Oil Pipeline) from going through Indigenous sacred lands and under the Missouri River, source of water for 18 million people.  Here is the link:

To help fund Truth To Power and Cutthroat, please CLICK ON:


Editor, Pam Uschuk will teach at magnificent Ghost Ranch (where Georgia O'Keefe painted) in Northern New Mexico the first three weeks of January 2018. WRITING THE SACRED IS A intensive three week hands-on mixed genre writing course in memoir, lyric prose & poetry includes field trips to Okey O'Wingeh Pueblo, Santa Clara Pueblo, Albuquerque Museum of Art, a hike in Bandolier National Monument, Taos, Santa Fe and Chimayo. Source material are works by Indigenous and Latino writers, N. Scott Momaday, Leslie Marmon Silko, Joy Harjo, Natalie Diaz, Sherwin Bitsui, Layli Longsoldier, Rudolfo Anaya, Demetria Martinez, Luis Alberto Urrea and others. This is a stellar program. Housing and meals and transportation from and to the Albuquerque airport are provided. If you've wanted time to write as well as writing prompts, feedback and guidance, sign up. Last year students gave this course rave reviews. Many of Pam's students have published books from the work they've written in her classes. Here is the link:
We thank our esteemed judges for our 2018 Literary Awards.  OUR CONTESTS OPEN JULY 31 AND ENDS ON OCTOBER 31, 2018.  Go to Contest Page to submit.

Patricia Spears Jones, Joy Harjo Poetry Contest 
Mona Susan Power, Rick DeMarinis Short Story Contest
David Quammen, Barry Lopez Nonfiction Contest
We are  delighted to announce our collaboration with Black Earth Institute on the publication of a major anthology of contemporary Chicanx writers. Our goal is to celebrate the great body of poetry and prose written by Chicanx writers across our country. Submissions for this anthology may be make on our website through Submittable beginning August 1st, 2018. We welcome writing by established as well as by emerging writers and DACA writers. Our deadline for submission is October 1st, 2018.

Editors:  Luis Alberto Urrea, Pam Uschuk, Matt Mendez, Beth Alvarado, William Pitt Root and more!